Checking in

Written on October 25, 2012:

When they say that time speeds up when you have a  kid, they weren’t joking. Somehow Andrew has been here for nine weeks and while the days are long (and some, my goodness, are so very long), the weeks seem short, and the past two months have just flown by.

I really can’t complain – Andrew has definitely become an easy going baby (knock on wood), once we got used to each other and somewhat of a routine going. He’s smiling and cooing and we even got a laugh out of him last Saturday.

****

Present Day:

Oh, my goodness, Andrew is growing way too fast for me to keep up. I took him out of his carseat this morning and thought to myself – how the HELL do you look so much older in just a few hours?

Poor baby’s a little congested today, but still (knock on wood) generally in good spirits. I got a good laughing session out of him today by saying “sneezy baby!” in all sorts of silly voices. He only napped for 40 minutes this morning and should be going down for another nap shortly, but for right now he’s playing contently in his exersaucer so I’m not going to try putting him down just yet.

In non-baby news: My dad is very, very ill. In fact, he’s pretty close to dying. He has (on top of his other health issues), TB & cancer of the throat & mouth, had a pulmonary embolism and a brain hemmorage over the weekend. My brother is down in Mexico with him. Right now I’m just waiting on some sort of news; every time I see I have a new email my heart jumps a little. If you could spare a thought or a prayer for him to ease his passing, I’d greatly appreciate it.

And, with that, the baby has had enough of the exersaucer and is demanding to be let the fuck out already, woman.

2 thoughts on “Checking in

  1. I’m so sorry to hear about your father. Sending all my love, thoughts, and prayers.

    Andrew is, indeed, growing too fast. He’s very handsome.

  2. Oh so sad about your daddy, I know how much he means to you. Sending you a big hug, its not fun waiting for that call/email, I feel your pain and will send a prayer for your dad.

    I could quite happily look at a baby photo of Andrew every day…he’s a super cutie!

Leave a Reply

